Vegan.

All right:

I’ve had the pleasure of meeting some awesome vegans in the last couple of days. I was really wanting to understand veganism better.
I rarely eat meat or consume dairy, but a much more resolute position is coming about.

During our conversation (in Seattle, which is awesome) they explained to me that most the vegans they know are ethical vegans. Ethical meaning this: they care so much about animals that they do not want to harm one in any way. I listened and I understood.
One of them said something that really, I mean REALLY, stuck with me.

“I don’t want to contribute to that level of suffering.”

Since then, my mind has been constantly thinking and processing and crunching on resources for veganism. And for those who know me, know that I believe in Jesus Christ. Nothing has been weirder about this thought process than the horrible things I found written about Christian Vegans. Westboro-type pastors called Vegans modern day witches and heretics. How absolutely bizarre is that?

Anyway, I’ve reached a conclusion, I think.

I don’t want to contribute to that level of suffering either.
I still love Jesus.
I just figure this:

If I can have full sustenance without contributing to injustice (not just animals, but the big wigs that run farmers into poverty) and pain, why not?
If I can SIGNIFICANTLY reduce my risk for heart disease, high cholesterol and meat related illnesses, why not?

My inconvenience is pretty minimal compared to the good I’ll be doing for my body and for God’s entire creation. After a while, it won’t seem all that inconvenient.

On Earth as it is in Heaven.
There is no pain in Heaven. No suffering. No death.
No death.

What are your opinions on the subject?
Let me know in the comments.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Vegan.

  1. Great blog post! My family is Christian… One of the ideas I try to express to them is that, if God created all of these animals and chose to give each animal a mind with feelings, thoughts, and the ability to suffer, then how can we justify showing God’s animals such a level of disrespect? Why also would God give us the physical ability to be completely healthy and long-lived without ever eating a single animal product? The word “meat” in the bible is a word used to describe “food” and is often not a direct reference to actual flesh.

    A turning point for many new vegans came after watching the following film (available in it’s entirety for free online):

    http://www.earthlings.com/

    I’ve taken the “Do unto others…” passage to heart. But I’ve taken it a step further. “Do unto all animals…”. Animals… of which I am one. :)

Leave a Reply

