Sweet Potato Doughnuts! Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten-Free (and vegan).

This morning came and I was more excited than ever.
Today was the day that I did the “impossible.”

Gluten-free AND vegan doughnuts.
I am really very excited to show you.

So you guys know, I used this gluten-free all-purpose flour mix. It was excellent. No offensive flavors or odors. (Stay away from bean flours in desert. Trust me.)

Are you ready? Here it is!
IMG_1662
I made the dough and then rolled it out.
IMG_1647
And in they go!
IMG_1657
Yay!
IMG_1651
And you can’t forget the glaze!
IMG_1665

In case you didn’t know, today is National Glazed Doughnut day. I decided to attempt a gluten-free and vegan sweet potato doughnut. It sounds absolutely crazy, but it was delicious. This post is also my entry to this month’s “Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten-Free.” Want the recipe?

Sweet Potato Doughnuts- Gluten-free and vegan.

Vegetable oil- enough to float your doughnuts.
Heat this to 375 degrees Fahrenheit.

1 cup of warm almond milk.
5 tsp of dry yeast. (Sorry to all who are sensitive to this.)
1 pinch of sugar.
Stir these three and set aside. Watch it though, yeast is crazy.

2 cups of gluten-free all-purpose flour mixture.
1/2 cup of mashed sweet potatoes.
1/2 tsp of sea salt.
1/4 cup of brown sugar.
Mix these with a fork.

Add the yeast mixture plus 1 tsp of vanilla extract to the flour mixture and, well, mix.

Fry.

For the glaze, I just did a simple syrup. You, on the other hand, can get creative.

I hope you enjoyed this post, guys!
One question-
Does anyone love sweet potato as much as I do?

To update you guys on The Crue Cart, I’m still working on raising capital. If you know anyone who would donate as little as $5 to this vegan and gluten-free start-up, send them here.

Give Peace A Chance,
Nannette

5 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

5 responses to “Sweet Potato Doughnuts! Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten-Free (and vegan).

  1. Pingback: Go Ahead Honey, It’s Gluten-Free Round-Up — Celiac Teen

  2. Melissa

    Wow. This looks amazing!

  3. Hi Nannette!
    I am super excited to make these! Last month I found out I was allergic to wheat, corn, milk, and soy and I have been seriously craving doughnuts since cutting everything out. Thanks for my doughnut fix!
    ~Chelsea

    • I’m so glad! This is why I do what I do. These allergies may seem horrendous but you’re about to discover amazing flavors and nutritional alternatives! I recommend using a higher dose of brown rice compared to white rice. Also, if you’ve got sorghum flour lying around replace some of the brown rice with that. Your taste buds are about to hug you. Feel free to check in from time to time to see what’s going on. Also, if you’re in the Seattle area, you can order some allergen free cupcakes here.

Leave a Reply

