Japan, we love you.

It’s taken me a few days to really aggregate all my thoughts on the horror happening in Japan.

The night it happened, I couldn’t sleep.
I couldn’t even close my eyes.
My heart was so deeply broken for the people of Japan.
I was confused.
Why?
Why would this happen?
They’ve only recently recovered from Hiroshima and now this?

I was curious.
How would America react?
Would this global tragedy bring the community together?
Would humanity triumph over political, religious, nationalist notions?

My first response was to pray. I couldn’t shut my eyes, but I prayed.
All night.
I prayed that wives and husbands and children would remain united and safe.
I prayed that casualties would be minor.
I prayed that the global community would respond quickly and compassionately.

I wanted share with you some ways to help.

Text to help The American Red Cross in Japan.

The Tomato Tart is doing an online bake sale. A silent auction hosted by many food bloggers (including US!) will take place on 3/30. 100% of the proceeds will be donated to Japan. I’m very excited to be a part of this event and hope that you will share the news with your friends.

Susan Fujiki is making paper cranes to raise money. It’s a really great fundraiser that I’ve contributed to. The paper crane has a deep cultural meaning in the Japanese culture. It’s a relevant and beautiful effort.

What other donation efforts are out there? Post them in the comments so we can share them with our friends.

To Japan-
We love you. Please get better soon.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

