Why “Nannette Raw?”

Hi again :]

So, I wanted to explain what I mean when I say “raw.”

Raw–adjective

1. uncooked, as articles of food: a raw carrot.

2. not having undergone processes of preparing, dressing, finishing, refining, or manufacture: raw cotton.

I am transitioning into a raw food diet for a multitude of reasons. One of them is factually based. Empirically stated, if you cook food over 110 degrees the enzymes break down and the food no longer helps you digest itself which taxes your digestive system way more than it should. That might not sound too bad on its own, but there’s more. Cooking food also drains it of it’s natural nutrients. So, what does that mean? When you eat something that’s been cooked it is devoid of most nutrition, full of artificial fillers and it in no way will offer a hand to your digestive system. This seems to be antithetical of the ritual of eating.

You eat to replenish and rejuvenate your body. Yes, it should taste good, (not that raw food doesn’t because you’re only limited by your own imagination) but the primary function of stopping a couple of times in a day to consume food is to nourish your body. The standard American diet is devoid of most nourishment. So, most of what we eat normally is nutrition-less, enzyme-less, empty-of-all-things-good calories. Yuck. No more.

Another reason for my transition is the fact that: IT FEELS GOOD. I feel so energetic and happy when I eat raw foods. Seriously. My body is so grateful. 20 years of processed food coming to an end. It’s pretty epic.  So, I’m working more and more raw yumminess into my diet. I’ll probably write a little about that.
The second meaning of raw is applicable to this blog too. My writing will be a release of my thoughts and ideas. I’m an entrepreneur. I have lots of ideas. I’ll write about my days at work, my talks with friends, my progress on my business dealings, and pretty much whatever else I cannot keep in. I hope someone finds it interesting, but if not, that’s okay too.

The next few days might be crazy, but I hope I find time to blog. I’m pretty much doing a hang-out spree for the rest of my time in Arizona. Seeing friends that have drifted away, saying goodbyes and all that kind of thing. I’m eager to remember it.

-Nannette

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Why “Nannette Raw?”

  1. Pam Sedlak

    Nanette~ I am so glad to hear about your raw diet. We will have lots to talk about when you get here. I am on that road too… or I should say our family is walking that road together. We are not total raw, but getting healthier every day. I am reading The ph Miracle Diet w/friends and working on balancing out the ph in our diet. Yes, we have lots to talk about. Can’t wait. Love you, Pam

    • PAM! I’m so excited to have a health food buddy waiting for me in Washington! I can’t wait to get off that bus and see you! We’ll have to hang out frequently up there! AH! Two weeks until I see you!

Leave a comment