Gluten-Freedom

Hey everybody!

Hope your new year festivities were stellar (and safe). Like I stated in my last post, I am living entirely gluten-free as of 01/01/11. It is now 01/02/11 and I felt it was necessary to tell you of my progress. The start is always the hardest part of a diet change. Here’s where I am at:

I had an apple with peanut butter for breakfast. I worked on the yesterday and forgot to bring my own lunch to work. So I didn’t eat until later on. When I got home, all the bread and pasta was still here and I thought I was going to cry if I looked at it for longer than 2 seconds. So I threw it all in a cupboard. (I know this sounds drastic but I love bread. A LOT. And I don’t have all the ingredients to make my gluten-free bread yet so I was getting desperate. Plus, I’m a little dramatic.)

I had a moment of genius.
Rice.
RICE.
Naturally gluten-free and naturally mushy and delicious!
So, I made some rice. But what I put on top of it was the star of the show.

Brown Sugar Romance.

1 tablespoon of extra virgin olive oil.
1/4 cup of your favorite onion. Chopped.
2 cloves of garlic. Minced.
2 cups of cremini mushrooms. Sliced.
1/4 cup of brown sugar. Packed.

Pan.
Medium heat on.
Olive oil in.
Onion and garlic dance into translucence.
The mushroom joins in on the love.
Brown sugar enters. It’s a whole new dance.
It’s lovely and courageous.

Enjoy this over rice.
You’ll forget gluten ever existed.

This is pretty much what I have been eating for every meal since yesterday.
I should probably change it up.
But I love it so much that I’m not sure I want to.
It’s THAT good.
If you eat meat, add bacon. Cut it up and cook it with the onion and the garlic.
You’ll be glad you did.

That is all for now.
Feel free to say hello in the comments.
And to subscribe to me so you know when I’m talking to you!

-Nannette

PS Why does Hershey’s Cookies and Cream bar have wheat in it? Ugh.
PPS I feel lighter and more energetic already. Yeah!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

