Beauty.

Oops, I did it again.

I left you guys in a hiatus. I promise it wasn’t intended. Things are so busy with The Crue Cart, which is good. But still, I shouldn’t have left this blog untouched.

My amazing husband turned 23 this last Sunday and we went into Seattle to celebrate. If you ever have a chance to go to Pike’s Market in your life, take it. There is SO much life there. So many people and and so many stories begging to be shared.

Today, I won’t be writing about food. I hope that’s all right.
My very best friend and I were talking today. I love her and miss her very much.

We got to talking about writing. And how it could change lives. I love that. I love how much beauty enters the world through letters. Sequential characters bringing such vivid emotions to someone sitting a thousand miles away. It’s beautiful. It’s magical.

We also talked about chasing your dreams. So many people live paycheck to paycheck to death bed. I refuse to waste my life. I refuse to spend my time and energy realizing someone’s dream other than my own. Life is too short.

My mom died at the age of 44, last January. She lived paycheck to paycheck to deathbed. I know that she had dreams of writing music and novels. She always put it off. She was working to survive. I know that she wouldn’t want that for me. I know that if she were here today she would tell me to live while I’m alive.

A friend of her’s reached out to me and told me that my mom was very uncomfortable in the kitchen after being diagnosed with diabetes. She said that my mom would be proud of me for providing food options for people who otherwise cannot enjoy meals out in fear of becoming ill. This brings me so much hope.

This is what I want to tell you today:

There is something beautiful inside you waiting to be shared.
You’re probably too insecure to share it.
Stop it.
Life is too short for you to live in fear.
Life is too short for you to stand in your own way.
The world is far too dark for you to hold your light back.
Let it out.
Yes, it will feel awkward.
Who cares?
You will make at least one person smile.
You will make a large impact on someone’s life.
You will change the world.
Whether it’s singing in public or doodling silly faces or waving at children, do it with all you have.
Your act of beauty will spark another.

Make sense?
Great.
What are you waiting for?

“Love that will not betray you,
Dismay or enslave you.
It will set you free.
Be more like the man
You were made to be.

Mumford & Sons- Sign No More.

So, go now. Be free. Be love. Be beauty. Change the world.

Love,
Nannette

6 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

6 responses to “Beauty.

  1. savannah

    You are such a talented writer, Nannette! What a great post…so motivating ❤

  2. This is a great reflection on how precious our time in our life truly is. We should always strive to squeeze all the juice out of life that we can, the sweet and the bitter. It’s all about the balance, the contrast and the creation. And yes, never forget your dreams. Don’t leave them for some-day or you may find they have sailed too far away from your vision, by the time you notice. We all must do something to sustain our lives and living our dream is becoming a much better choice today than building someone else’s dream. Besides we all deserve to live an incredible life and contribute to the rest of the world around us. So now, let’s step forth, inspire ourselves and others and let our hearts guide us forward. Thank you Nannette Minley for this beautiful post.

  3. Lauren

    This is so beautiful, Nannette, very inspirational. I love you so much! I needed this reminder. Life has a tendency to begin getting heavy around me with all the little complicated details and it makes me want to choose the easier, less impressive route, but I know it’s all about a much bigger picture! Thank you for posting this :] ❤

Leave a Reply

